Who’s who

Officers and Committee Members (2022/23) are:

Honorary Officers

  • Tim Boatswain (President)
  • Geraint John (President Emeritus)

Planning Advisory Group

  • Michael Fookes
  • Eric Roberts
  • David Lloyd
  • Katherine Booth

Terms of Reference of Planning Group

Design Advisory Group

  • Peter Newby
  • Roy Darby
  • Peter Denney
  • Hugo Hardy
  • Geraint John
  • John Milligan

Terms of Reference of Design Group

Awards Advisory Group

  • Geraint John
  • Lynn Barker
  • Katharine Booth
  • Mary Conneely
  • Roy Darby
  • Hugo Hardy
  • Chris McIntyre

Terms of Reference of Awards Group


Assistance on specific topics

  • Moragh Ormiston (Spokesperson – Verulamium Park)

Join us

Membership is open to all

Upcoming Events

Our 2022 programme started with online talks then we returned to in person events. Events resume in the Autumn.

Join us

Membership is open to everyone who shares our aim to make our City attractive for residents and visitors.

The membership / financial year runs from 1st April through to 31st March but you may of course join at any time so don’t delay, join today!

Become a member


Do you know of a project that might deserve recognition in the Society’s Awards? These can be for new developments, large or small, but could be for a small extension, restored windows on a period property, or a rebuilt wall. Its not just about buildings either. Remember the Society’s Awards cover things that enhance the quality of St Albans environment or amenities and the Trevelyan Award is presented for a conservation project.

Get looking about now. Send your nominations to us stalbanscivicsociety@gmail.com Please provide a brief description and thoughts on why it should be considered.